Open Door Policy

by The Hold Steady

  • Streaming + Download

    Pre-order of Open Door Policy. You get 2 tracks now (streaming via the free Bandcamp app and also available as a high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more), plus the complete album the moment it’s released.
    Purchasable with gift card
    releases February 19, 2021

      $7.99 USD  or more


The Feelers
Family Farm 03:43
Unpleasant Breakfast
The Prior Procedure
Me & Magdalena
Hanover Camera
Parade Days


OPEN DOOR POLICY is our 8th studio album and will be released on February 19, 2021 via our own label, Positive Jams, in association with Thirty Tigers.

We recorded OPEN DOOR POLICY in two different sessions in the back half of 2019. Once again we teamed with producer Josh Kaufman and engineer Dan Goodwin, this time at the Clubhouse studio in upstate NY. Our intention was to create an album that worked as a grand piece, rather than a collection of songs. 2019 was an active year for The Hold Steady – our writing was consistent, and new songs were coming in pretty regularly. The recording process was creative, open and fun.

We were pretty much done with the record by the time we played a few of the new songs in London the first week of March 2020, as the unease of the pandemic was setting in. Not long after we got back from London, NYC shut down and we began to see our 2020 shows postponed. Over the next months, it became obvious that timing this album's release to specific weekend celebrations wouldn't be a possibility in the near future. But we were still excited to share it.

The songs on OPEN DOOR POLICY are about power, wealth, & mental health. They're about technology, occupation, consumerism, freedom, fandom and escape. And although the album was written and recorded in 2019, the themes of this record seem to be underscored and highlighted by this year of virus and quarantine.

Thanks for listening. Thanks for understanding. We're really glad that you're here.

Stay Positive!

The Hold Steady


releases February 19, 2021

The Hold Steady: Bobby Drake, Craig Finn, Tad Kubler, Franz Nicolay, Galen Polivka, Steve Selvidge

Horns: Stuart Bogie & Jordan McLean
Background Vocals: Annie Nero & Cassandra Jenkins
Percussion: Matt Barrick

Produced by Josh Kaufman
Recorded by D. James Goodwin Recorded at the Clubhouse, Rhinebeck NY
Mixed by D. James Goodwin at The Isokon
Additional recording at The Isokon
Mastered by Dave Gardner at Infrasonic

Cover photo by Dave McLaughlin
Back cover photo by Kelly Shee
Sleeve photo by Pete Deevakul
Animal art by Nick Hollomon
Design by Vance Wellenstein

All Songs © 2020
Muy Interesante Music (ASCAP)
Key Hits (ASCAP)
Eggshell Armor Music (ASCAP)
Sounds Like Selvidge (BMI)

Management: Dave Gottlieb at Death or Glory LLC
US Booking: Larry Webman at Paradigm
Rest of World Booking: Steve Strange & Josh Javor at X-ray Touring
US Publicity: Ken Weinstein at Big Hassle
UK Publicity: Jay Taylor at Prescription PR
Digital Media Management: Brendan Hilliard at Juicebox Industries
Legal: George Regis Esq.


all rights reserved



The Hold Steady Brooklyn, New York

Wired and well connected since 2003. Stay Positive.

contact / help

Contact The Hold Steady

Streaming and
Download help

Redeem code

Report this album or account

If you like The Hold Steady, you may also like: